How many La Liga titles have Real Madrid won?

Real Madrid stands on the on the eve of another La Liga title – with the tantalizing prospect of being crowned champions on the pitch of their city rivals and current holders Atlético – and at this stage of the 2021-22 campaign, it will take nothing less than an act of divine intervention to prevent Carlo Ancelotti from winning the title in his first season back in the Bernabéu dugout. Other than Sevilla, no other side have really challenged Madrid’s dominance this season, defending champions Atleti regularly shoot themselves in the foot and Barcelona fail to recover from one of their worst La Liga debuts – although the recent revival under Xavi has lent some procedural interest after Madrid suffered a Clásico thrashing at Camp Nou.

Madrid, Barca and Atleti operate closed La Liga store

If (and when) Madrid lift the La Liga trophy, it will be a minor step: Los Blancos’ 35th triumph in the domestic competition. That would put Ancelotti’s side nine ahead of Barca, who with 26 wins are second on the list of all-time champions. Only Atlético have also reached double figures, with 11 titleslending some credence to the idea that the Spanish top flight is dominated by a conglomeration of the ‘big three’ of Madrid teams and Catalan giants.

In reality, only two other clubs have won La Liga so far in the 21st century: Valencia (2001-02 and 2003-04) and Deportivo, at the height of the Galician “Super Depor” in 1999-2000.

LaLiga has only nine champions in its 90-year history

Full screen

Real Madrid’s Santillana led his side to Racing Santander in the 1978-79 season after the title went to the Bernabéu.JAVIER GALVEZDIARIO AS

In total, only nine teams have won La Liga since its founding in 1929, and of those three (Depor, Sevilla and Betis) have only done so once.. There was a brief period of Basque hegemony in the early 1980s, when Athletic and Real Sociedad shared four titles between 1980 and 1984, but since the turn of the century it has largely been a procession for Madrid and Barca, with the occasional intervention.

While Madrid have always been the biggest fish in La Liga, Los Blancos can’t claim to be the most successful team in domestic club competition across Europe’s big five leagues. That honor belongs to Juventus, who have won Serie A 36 times. Traditional Bundesliga heavyweights Bayern have won the title 30 times in England Manchester United are still clinging – albeit narrowly – to their apex perch with 20 titles to Liverpool‘s 19.

Number of domestic title winners in Europe’s top five leagues

  • Germany: 29
  • England: 24
  • France: 23
  • Italy: 16
  • Spain: 9

Comments are closed.